codemorphis.com Forum Index codemorphis.com
Software development: pure and simple.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Application Interface Component & Automation

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    codemorphis.com Forum Index -> Visual Programming Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mforkner



Joined: 04 Aug 2004
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 5:41 pm    Post subject: Application Interface Component & Automation Reply with quote

I have been working on automation, but have hit some barriers.

Pausing between actions is easy if static pauses are needed, however, automation requires dynamic pauses between dissimilar steps. For loops can help a little -- but change boxes and speeds vary. Having Windows Event components nested can also help, but being able to dynamically pause between steps consistantly is the only way to perfectly automate a process consistently from box to box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
CodeMorphis



Joined: 02 Dec 2003
Posts: 252

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

By dynamic pauses, do you mean variable time pauses? If so, perhaps your situation might be addressed by having optional pre and post pauses before/after issuing messages. If this is the case, please advise and if not, please describe what you think might help your situation.

Regards,

CodeMorphis Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mforkner



Joined: 04 Aug 2004
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2005 10:09 am    Post subject: Dynamic Pausing Reply with quote

Yes, pre and post send timing are what is needed. Being able to pause just before or just after sending commands allows for smooth automation.
I have been using multiple timer events to sequence commands being sent to applications, but it gets extremely complicated. I may need 20 or more differently timed pauses to automate a task, but that is too comlex. Some of the program automation I am preparing to write will need 100 or more differently timed pauses.

I tried an exercise: to give an app focus, position the mouse on the title bar, left click down, drag, left click up -- This moved a window obviously.

I got a list of all applications running ( I had 24 apps going - minus program manager ), then inside a for loop moved each window a bit. Without pauses it scrambles commands, and some odd things happen. I switched to sending keystrokes to move the windows with for loops to pause. Creating a timed sequence was easier by just putting for loops in between application interface commands, but not a good solution.

So a pause component that allowed for a pause in millisecond resolution, or an option on the application interface component for a pause in millisecond resolution. Either way would work well.

Regards,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
CodeMorphis



Joined: 02 Dec 2003
Posts: 252

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2005 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, pre/post pause optional arguments for the "Keys", "Mouse move" and "Mouse click" services should simplify your task and also are trivial to add. We'll get this in for the next minor update.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mforkner



Joined: 04 Aug 2004
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2005 12:21 pm    Post subject: Pause Reply with quote

I see your point. I was only hoping for possibly seeing a pause component in the next update. But you kicked it up a notch.

Having pre and post pausing on the services will add more versatility and less clutter than using a seperate pause component or a pause service on the application interface component. It would requre two pause components or two pause services to accomplish the same thing as having pre/post pause arguments on the individual application interface component services.

I am very excited it will be easy for CodeMorphis to add the pre/post command pauses in the next update. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
CodeMorphis



Joined: 02 Dec 2003
Posts: 252

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This has been added to the code base and should be available in the next minor update.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
CodeMorphis



Joined: 02 Dec 2003
Posts: 252

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2005 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pre and post arguments have been added to the "Keys", "Mouse move" and "Mouse click" services of the Application Interface component in Synopsis 1.1.9 (http://www.codemorphis.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=70)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    codemorphis.com Forum Index -> Visual Programming Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group